Changing review item status auto-notifies SME

Posted about 9 years ago by Tammy Knoll-Anderson

Post a topic
T
Tammy Knoll-Anderson

Hi James,

As a developer, I would like a way to communicate with the SME on items I have questions about or need additional information. It would be great if a status type could trigger this.

For example, a SME comments that a slide needs additional information and a new image, but they haven't provided either. I can comment with a suggested image or revised text, but I am not ready to say I have completed their request. I change the status to Feedback or Pending, etc. which triggers a notification to the SME to revisit this review item.

Thanks!

Tammy Knoll-Anderson

1 Votes

3 Comments

Sorted by
J

Jenn Brown posted almost 9 years ago

I really like the idea of "email latest changes" to SME/developers.

0 Votes

Just James

Just James posted almost 9 years ago Admin

Hi Tammy,

Reviewers can subscribe to notifications if they want to from the course dashboard. By default they would be notified every 3 hours of any updates to comments. The notification period can be updated from their profile if they prefer to get them more/less often. 

We don't automatically subscribe Reviewer to notifications because most Reviewers don't want them. Many Reviewers never look at the course dashboard. 

We have considered something like you are suggesting but we need to be careful not to overwhelm users with emails. If you update 20 comments to pending the SME would get 20 emails :-(

We need to work out something smart enough to group those into one email. Or maybe a button to "Email latest changes" that would click after updating those 20 comments.... 

0 Votes

J

Jenn Brown posted about 9 years ago